lunes, 21 de marzo de 2016

Levels of Spanish as a foreign language

Probably some of you are willing to know what are those tags with a letter and a number (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 y C2). These are the division of the knowledge of Spanish as a Foreign Language (ELE) and other european languages, in different levels. These are an indication of the achieved language knowledge in the target language by its learners.

The levels of Spanish as a foreign language are stated by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF or CEFR). The CEFR was put together by the Council of Europe as a way of standardising the levels of language exams in different regions, facilitating educational and occupational mobility across the continent.

The CEFR divides learners into six levels. For each level, it describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing. These levels are:

     A - Basic user
         A1 - Breakthrough
         A2 - Way stage

     B - Independent user
         B1 - Threshold
         B2 - Vantage

     C - Proficient user
         C1 - Effective operational proficiency
         C2 - Mastery

To know your level you could do this test by the Instituto Cervantes (public organization in charge of the promotion and teaching of the spanish language and culture) which indicates the level you should start learning.

You can also try this test by the Spanish school Tía Tula, which is shorter and more focused in the grammar aspects of the language.